• warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.
  • warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.

Trojans, Bolts and Boats try to bowl their way to state

CCA’s Stirlen Roberson finishes sixth in 3A district tourney
Liberty High sophomore Ryan Bys launches the ball during a Class 3A state qualifying bowling tournament at Lancer Lanes, in Cedar Rapids. Bys, bowling with Iowa City West High, bowled 318.

CEDAR RAPIDS– Iowa City West High’s bowling teams, comprised of student athletes from West, Liberty High and Clear Creek Amana (CCA) competed in a joint Class 3A state qualifying (district) meet on Tuesday, Feb. 18, at Lancer Lanes, in Cedar Rapids.
The Trojans, Bolts and Boats came up short in sending anybody to the state meet, set for Wednesday, Feb. 26, at Cadillac Lanes, in Waterloo, as both the Trojans and Women of Troy finished sixth in their six-team fields.
CCA sophomore Stirlen Roberson led the Trojans, Bolts and Bolts with 421 making him sixth in the district. West High’s Kylie Rohm led the Women of Troy with 337, while Liberty High senior Lauren Strauser bowled 224.
“The season was what I expected with a young team,” Coach Mike Mellecker said. “We had one senior boy on varsity and the girls had two. Next year three of the boys that bowled Tuesday have two years left, and for girls there were two freshman, so West High bowling is looking up.” Mellecker is always looking to boost his numbers however, particularly on the girls’ side.
“We need more girls to come out for bowling,” he said.
Overall, the coach said, “There were days we bowled well and should have won, but not covering spares did us in. Our seniors were very helpful this year to get the teams going and will be missed. Next year we lose two girls and five boys due to graduation, but have a strong core of bowlers that had seen action this year on varsity. We have one freshman boy that didn’t see any varsity time this year but will be will see some varsity next year, he is from CCA, Kolby Ripperton.”
Class 3A State Qualifying Bowling at Lancer Lanes, Cedar Rapids
Girls team scores– Cedar Rapids Jefferson, 2801. Cedar Falls, 2696. Prairie, Cedar Rapids, 2660. Iowa City, City High, 2321. Davenport North, 2293. Iowa City West, 2036.
Scores for Iowa City West Girls– Kylie Rohm, 167-170-337. Jordynn Brackett, 151-146-297. Neena Turnblom, 142-132-274. Kayla Schindler, 133-125-258. Jade Ritchey, 113-114-227. Lauren Strauser (L), 79-145-224.
Boys team scores– Prairie, Cedar Rapids, 3147. Cedar Falls, 3125. Davenport North, 2896. Cedar Rapids Jefferson, 2876. Iowa City, City High, 2659. Iowa City West, 2500.
Scores for Iowa City West Boys– Stirlen Roberson (CCA), 188-233-421. David Jang, 163-181-344. Robert Jones (L), 204-133-337. Ryan Bys (L), 198-120-318. Stevie Jenkins (L), 146-148-294. Jonah Mohr, 132-142-274.

2020 IHSAA and IGHSAU Bowling– State Qualifiers
Class 3A Boys— Des Moines Lincoln, 3311. Marshalltown, 3237. Dubuque Hempstead, 3192. Prairie, Cedar Rapids, 3147. Ankeny (At-Large Qualifier), 3130. Cedar Falls (At-Large Qualifier), 3125. Waterloo West (At-Large Qualifier), 3088. Davenport Central, 2861.
Individual qualifiers— Demitri Ferneau, Marshalltown, 527. William Putney, Des Moines Lincoln, 515. Johnathon Keiper, Prairie, Cedar Rapids, 513. Devin Eudaley, Dubuque Hempstead, 500. Jensen Birdwell, Southeast Polk, 468. Dylan Cooper, Marshalltown, 468. Cameron Borst, Waukee, 467. Derrik Probasco, Des Moines Lincoln, 462. Nile Franz, Iowa City City High, 460. Jace Merta, Prairie, Cedar Rapids, 460. Gage Payton, Ankeny, 458. Dominic Friend, Des Moines Lincoln, 458. Josh Allen, Davenport Central, 447.
Class 3A Girls— Ottumwa, 2917. Dubuque Hempstead, 2860. Cedar Rapids Jefferson, 2801. Cedar Falls, 2696. Cedar Rapids Kennedy, 2682. Davenport Central, 2681. Des Moines Lincoln, 2679. Prairie, Cedar Rapids, 2660.
Individual qualifiers— Abbie Clark, West Des Moines Valley, 481. Michaela Beckman, Cedar Rapids Kennedy, 450. Zoe Schultz, Dubuque Hempstead, 447. Abigaile Paper, Davenport West, 444. Amanda Moyer, Cedar Rapids Prairie, 440. Emma Clancy, Dubuque Senior, 425. Zoe Seamans, Ottumwa, 424. Kaytlyn Andrews, Des Moines East, 422. McKinna Haines, Ottumwa, 417. Sara Byers, Des Moines Lincoln, 416. Myah Brinker, Cedar Falls, 416. Anna Warkel, Cedar Rapids Jefferson, 415.