• warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.
  • warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.

Four Spartan football players named All-State First Team selections

Cam-Coons Connection named to All-State First Team Offense with Broghammer, Andregg named to First Team Defense

DES MOINES– The Iowa Print Sports Writers Association (IPSWA), founded in February of 2018, named its All-State Team selections for Iowa High School Football.
Cam Miller, A.J. Coons, Michael Broghammer and Jace Andregg were named for their performances catapulting the Spartans to the Class 3A championship game against the Western Dubuque Bobcats earning them the state runner-up title and a 12-1 season record.
Miller was named At-Large First Team. At 6-foot-1 and 205 pounds, he passed for 2,436 yards and 28 touchdowns with just four interceptions this season. He also rushed for 840 yards and 12 touchdowns.
Coons was named First Team tight end/wide receiver. At 6-foot-4 and 210 pounds, he caught 60 passes for 961 yards including 12 touchdowns this season, ranking top three in all three categories in Class 3A.
Broghammer was named First Team offensive lineman. At 6-foot-3 and 245 pounds, he was a two-way starter offensively and defensively for the Spartans.
Andregg was named a First Team Defensive Lineman. At 6-foot-2 and 205 pounds, he had 39.5 tackles and led the Spartans with five tackles for loss and four sacks.
The IPSWA Team Captains and team recognitions were selected in each of the six Iowa high school football classes by the following sports writers attending the meeting: Matt Coss, Quad-City Times; John McBride, The Fort Dodge Messenger; K.J. Pilcher, Cedar Rapids Gazette; Tyler Hetu, Creston News Advertiser; Andrew Brown, Dallas County News; Matt Gengler, Mount Vernon Times News; Jake Ryder, Grundy Register; Kyle Ocker, Centerville Daily Iowegian; Brennen Normand, Creston News Advertiser; Brian Rathjen, Atlantic News Telegraph; Colin Peters, Centerville Daily Iowegian; Daryl Schepanski, Anamosa Journal-Eureka; Troy Hyde, Newton Daily News; Richard Rindt, Oskaloosa Herald; Perry Bell, Knoxville Journal-Express and Pella Chronicle; and Mike Oeffner, Harlan Newspapers. Each newspaper was allowed only one vote per class during the selection meeting.
Coaches attending the meeting provided information and perspective. Among those attending the IPSWA meeting were: Duane Matthess, Clarke; Larry Allen, OABCIG; Don Anderson, Iowa Falls-Alden; Garrison Carter, ADM, Adel; Logan Hansen, ADM, Adel; Paul Patterson, Norwalk; Gabe Tardive, LeMars; Lyle Ambaugh, IFCA; Chad Edeker, WACO, Wayland; Steve Milder, West Central; Jim Pedersen, Central Decatur; Brian Wilken, Newell-Fonda; Shane Rowlands, Southeast Warren; George Ashman, Woodward-Granger; Eric Trudo, Van Meter; Mike Kauzlarich, Panorama; Don Betts, Dike-New Hartford; Sam Anderson, Urbandale; Matt Miller, Fort Dodge; Chris Buesing, Cedar Rapids Jefferson; Gary Swenson, West Des Moines Valley; Scott Carlson, Waukee; Rick Nelson, Ankeny; and Tom Wilson, Dowling Catholic West Des Moines.
Team Captains selected (listed by conference, name and school) included: 8-Man- Thomas Even, Don Bosco, Gilbertsville; Class A - Tate Hagen, West Hancock; Class 1A - Hunter Dekkers, West Sioux; Class 2A - Wyatt Wegener, Algona; Class 3A - Calvin Harris, Western Dubuque; and Class 4A - Michael Keough, Dowling Catholic West Des Moines.
In Class 3A, First Team Offense was (position, name, school, and year): QB Calvin Harris Western Dubuque SR; TE/WR A.J. Coons Solon SR; TE/WR John Palmer Glenwood SR; TE/WR Brock Johnson Winterset SR; OL Logan Jones Lewis Central SR; OL Josh Volk Cedar Rapids Xavier SR; OL Henry Lutovsky Mt. Pleasant JR; OL Tyler Maro Davenport Assumption JR; OL Dodge Sauser Grinnell JR; OL Michael Broghammer Solon SR; OB Wyatt Hunter Grinnell JR; OB Ben Bryant Western Dubuque SR; OB Terrance Weah Dennison-Schleswig SR; K Aaron Blom Oskaloosa SR; and At-Large Cam Miller Solon SR.
Class 3A First Team Defense included: DL Kaden Sutton ADM SR; DL Allen Fries Harlan SR; DL Cody Heisman Pella JR; DL Jace Andregg Solon SR; LB Ben Clark Norwalk SR; LB Blake Willey Dallas Center-Grimes JR; LB Ethan Hurkett Cedar Rapids Xavier SR; LB Will McLaughlin Harlan SO; DB Tyler Olson Webster City JR; DB Aaron Downs Pella JR; DB Logan Schmitt Independence SR; DB Will Burds Western Dubuque SR; P Tate Stine-Smith ADM JR; KR Scott Anderson Norwalk SR; and At-large Aisea Toki LeMars SR.
Class 3A Second Team Offense included: QB Daniel Wright Sergeant Bluff-Luton SR; TE/WR Deric Fitzgerald Sergeant Bluff-Luton SR; TE/WR Logan Shetterly Pella SR; TE/WR Nathan Conrad ADM SR; OL Dylan Hopp Glenwood SR; OL Hayden Amos Carlisle SR; OL Trevor Griffin Lewis Central SR; OL Mason Huerter Pella SR; OL Brady Schlager Spencer SR; OL Jeremy Chaplin Waverly-Shell Rock SR; OB Nic Goodhue Carlisle SR; OB Trey Mathis Webster City JR; OB Bryson Bowman Lewis Central SR; and K Brock Sell Glenwood SO.
Class 3A Second Team Defense included: DL Chase Gladden Carroll SR; DL Dustin Wille Western Dubuque SR; DL Kob Clayborne Bishop Heelan SR; DL Ben Belkin North Scott SR; LB Seth Adrian Davenport Assumption SR; LB Spencer Kleene Sergeant Bluff-Luton SR; LB Trashaun Willis Washington JR; LB Nate Link North Scott SR; DB Keegan Cox Knoxville JR; DB Nic Lawton Dallas Center-Grimes JR; DB Ty Anderson North Scott SR; DB Silas Bales Glenwood JR; P Drake Woody Iowa City Liberty SR; and KR Tyler Miller Oskaloosa SR.
Class 3A Third Team Offense included: QB Zach Marker Norwalk SR; TE/WR Logan Halverson Decorah SR; TE/WR Thomas Fidone Lewis Central JR; TE/WR Ethan Carlson Norwalk JR; OL Gage Linahon Newton SR; OL Sam Hester Norwalk SR; OL Will Tasler Webster City SR; OL Ryan Friese Washington SR; OL Dylan Reuther Independence SR; OL Wade Phair Sergeant Bluff-Lutton SR; OB Isaiah Spencer Spencer SR; OB Max Tafolla Iowa City Liberty JR; OB Zach Brand Dallas Center-Grimes JR; and K Gabriel Austin Decorah SR.
Clas 3A Third Team Defense included: DL TJ Bollers Clear Creek-Amana JR; DL Mitchell Helmkamp Cedar Rapids Xavier SR; DL Jayme Augusma Dallas Center Grimes SR; DL Cole Kramer Waverly-Shell Rock SR; LB Jacob Hanley Waterloo East SR; LB Colton Dreith Storm Lake SR; LB Ben Olson Knoxville SR; LB Carter Kluesner Western Dubuque SR; DB Cejay Whisler Carlisle JR; DB Zach Carr Glenwood SR; DB Corey Bates Sergeant Bluff-Luton SR; DB Ethan Vetterick Norwalk SR; P Ian Gille Bishop Heelan SO; and KR Luke Turner Washington SR.