• warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.
  • warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.

Plenty to choose from on Nov. 5

Leader area city and school board candidates’ list finalized

JOHNSON COUNTY– The filing deadline to be on the ballot for the Tuesday, Nov. 5, city and school elections was 5 p.m. on Thursday, Sept. 19. The Johnson County Auditor’s Office has posted the list of the many candidates throughout the county in city and school elections, with several in the North Liberty Leader’s coverage area: North Liberty, Tiffin, Oxford, Swisher and Shueyville; and including the Clear Creek Amana (CCA) Community School District and the Iowa City Community School District (ICCSD).
Voter ID will be required for Election Day voters. (The "oath" option that was in effect for the 2018 general election has expired.) Under the current court ruling, IDs or ID numbers are NOT required for early voters or for mailed absentee ballots.
North Liberty
Matthew Eckhardt and Michael Nicholls will challenge incumbents RaQuishia Harrington, Chris Hoffman and Brent Smith in a contest for three seats with a four-year term. Harrington joined the council in March after winning a special election held to fill the seat vacated by Jim Sayre, who moved out of state. Smith was appointed by the city council in May to replace Jennifer Goings, who also has moved out of the area. Hoffman, whose term began in January 2016 and expires in December, is currently the Mayor Pro Tempore. Brian Wayson, a previous council member, is seeking to rejoin the council in a bid for a two-year term.
Penny Jenn is running unopposed for Mayor. Current Mayor Tim Hennes was elected to office in 2017.
Four candidates are vying for three seats with a four-year term. David Cook, Bryan Cooling and Patricia Lewis will challenge incumbent Lorena Weppler.
Residents will also decide the fate of “Public Measure MA – Library Levy,” which if passed means the city would levy an amount of 27 cents per $1,000 valuation to increase the annual operating budget of the Oxford Public Library. Collection would begin on July 1, 2021, with an indefinite expiration. A simple majority, 50 percent plus one, is required for passage.
Voters have a choice for mayor this election as incumbent Steve Berner faces a challenge from Royce Phillips. Phillips previously served as mayor until Berner defeated him in 2011. He later returned to the city council until he was defeated in 2017.
Five candidates: incumbent Peggy Upton, Melissa Arey, Christine Olney, Lexi Rector and Rodney Walls will battle for two, four-year term city council seats.
Tiffin residents will also see a library levy on the ballot. If passed, the Tiffin Public Library Support Levy would increase from 10 cents per $1,000 assessed valuation to 27 cents per $1,000 of assessed valuation, “for the purpose of offsetting general fund expenses for the City of Tiffin’s annual operating budget.” Collection would begin on July 1, 2020.
Jack B. (Bart) Frisk, Brent Foss and Chris Lacy are on the ballot to retain their seats on the city council for another four-year term.
Mayor Christopher Taylor is running unopposed for another four-year term.
Mary Gudenkauf, Rebekah Neuendorf and Michael Stagg are running for reelection to their city council seats for another four-year term.
Iowa City Community School District (ICCSD)
Eight candidates are on the ballot for four seats on the school board. Incumbents Shawn Eyestone and Paul Roesler will attempt to keep their seats while Charlie Eastham, Matthew Getz, Michael Tilley, Julie Van Dyke, Stephanie Van Housen and Lisa C. Williams will attempt to get onto the board.
Voters in the ICCSD will also decide on the fate of the former Hoover Elementary School via “Public Measure LY,” which if passed would authorize the school district to demolish the building, located at 2200 E. Court St. in Iowa City.
Clear Creek Amana (CCA) Community School District
The CCA School Board of Directors will look different in November as board members Terry Davis and Steve Swenka are not seeking reelection. Incumbent Matt McAreavy will face Brian Horsford, former board member Eileen Schmidt and Penny Schnedler in a race for two at-large seats while Jennifer Mooney runs unopposed in District 1 (Amana and Oxford), and newcomer Jeff Tackaberry runs unopposed for District 3 (Tiffin and rural Oxford), the seat currently held by Swenka.
Voters in the district can vote on all board seats, and at-large members may live anywhere in the CCA school district. Members elected to district seats, however, must reside in their director district. A map of the director districts can be found at https://www.ccaschools.org on the Board of Education page.
A candidate forum is scheduled for Wednesday, Oct. 9, at 6:30 p.m. in the District Administration Office located at 1486 Hwy. 6 NW (former Hummer Trucking building), Oxford.

Important Dates
Monday, Oct. 7 – First day for voting at the Auditor’s Office (913 S. Dubuque St., Iowa City), 7:45 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
Monday, Oct. 14 – Johnson County does not observe Columbus Day, which means the Auditor’s Office will be open for early voting.
Friday, Oct. 25 – Pre-registration deadline and mailed absentee ballot request deadline at 5 p.m. “Voters may still register after this date using the Election Day registration procedure.” In-person early voting is still available after this date.
Monday, Nov. 4 – Last day for in-person early voting at the Auditor’s Office, 7:45 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Also, postmark deadline for mailed absentee ballots.
Tuesday, Nov. 5 – Election Day. Polls open 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. There are no longer separate school precincts, and nearly all voters will vote at their regular general election polling places.
Website to find your polling place: