• warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.
  • warning: Parameter 2 to ed_classified_link_alter() expected to be a reference, value given in /home/soloneconomist/www/www/includes/common.inc on line 2968.

Creek Boys return four starters for the upcoming hoops season

Clear Creek Amana 2019-20 varsity boys’ basketball preview

TIFFIN– The Clear Creek Amana (CCA) varsity boys’ basketball team returns four starters for the 2019-20 season. The squad, under Head Coach Brandon Clubb, went 11-9 overall last season, with a 10-8 showing in the WaMaC Conference. Clubb, with 15 seasons as the top man, is in his fourth season at the helm of the Clippers’ program and is assisted by Mark Stern, Nick Neuendorf, Chuck Wolfe and Tate Thomsen.
The Creek Boys’ postseason campaign came to a 63-46 end in a Class 3A substate quarterfinal contest against Davenport Assumption, at Cedar Rapids Xavier. It was the final appearance for seniors Kaden McAreavy, Nolan Schwarting, Rahabot Habte and Zach Kabbage, who graduated.
Returning starters, seniors Tyler Schrepfer and Nick O’Connor, are back this season along with juniors Christian Withrow and T.J. Bollers.
Schrepfer, a 5-11 point guard, averaged 12 points, nearly four rebounds and three assists per game last season. He was a unanimous WaMaC West First Team All-Division pick after pounding out 233 points for the Clippers. O’Connor is a 6-3 forward who averaged 8.8 points, 3.4 rebounds, and 2.4 assists per game and earned a WaMaC Honorable Mention.
Withrow, a 6-3 forward, averaged 11.4 points, four rebounds, and nearly three assists per game last season, and picked up WaMaC Second Team honors. Bollers, a 6-5 center, averaged 10 points and nearly eight rebounds per game for the Creek Boys. Bollers also earned WaMaC Second Team honors.
Juniors Mike Potter and Brock Reade are also back in Clubb’s port this season. Both are 6-2 guards with Potter averaging two points and one rebound per game, while Reade averaged four points and nearly two boards per game last season.
A pair of talented sophomores is moving to the varsity ranks and is expected to contribute to the Clippers’ campaign this season. Kyle Schrepfer and Ben Swails are both guards. Coach Clubb described them as leaders on the sophomore team last season as freshmen.
“The WaMaC West favorite is Center Point-Urbana,” Club said. “They are the defending champs and return key players along with having a successful sophomore team last season.”
The season opens on Monday, Nov. 25, with a jamboree at the Hillcrest Academy, near Kalona, before going full-throttle on Tuesday, Dec. 3, at Central DeWitt. The Creek Boys’ first home game is on Friday, Dec. 6, as Mount Vernon’s Mustangs visit.

2019-2020 Clear Creek Amana Varsity Boys Basketball Schedule
Monday, Nov. 25 AT Hillcrest Academy, Kalona (Jamboree) TBD
Tuesday, Dec. 3 AT Central DeWitt 7:30 p.m.
Friday, Dec. 6 HOME vs. Mount Vernon 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Dec. 10 HOME vs. West Delaware 7:30 p.m.
Thursday, Dec. 12 AT Grinnell 7:30 p.m.
Friday, Dec. 13 AT Marion 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Dec. 17 AT Independence 7:30 p.m.
Friday, Dec. 20 AT Center Point-Urbana 7:30 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 3 HOME vs. Williamsburg 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Jan. 7 AT Benton Community 7:30 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 10 HOME vs. South Tama 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Jan. 14 AT Vinton-Shellsburg 7:30 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 17 HOME vs. Beckman Catholic 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Jan. 21 AT Williamsburg 7:30 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 24 HOME vs. Independence 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Jan. 28 AT South Tama 7:30 p.m.
Friday, Jan. 31 HOME vs. Vinton-Shellsburg 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 4 HOME vs. Center Point-Urbana 7:30 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 7 AT Maquoketa 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, Feb. 8 HOME vs. Washington (IA) 4:30 p.m.
Friday, Feb. 14 AT Solon 7:30 p.m.
Tuesday, Feb. 18 HOME vs. Benton Community 7:30 p.m.